Chocolate Olive Oil Cake

20130619-203119.jpg

I often think if there could be a limit to the options when it comes to baking cakes. And let me tell you, No. It’s pretty interesting how you can bake a simple tea cake with basic ingredients and also bake something as complicated as a marzipan cake! I have an aunt who once told me that if you’re running out of eggs and butter or oil for the cake, use mayonnaise instead! I mean, I really could not believe my ears for hearing that until I tried it myself. So there is one thing I’ve learnt, improvise improvise improvise!

I have seem to have a special inclination toward olive oil. I’m a die hard fan of it. So much that I even tried substituting my butter with olive oil in this cake. I believe I get it from a European influence in my family. But again, it’s a great alternative who’re looking for a healthier option in cakes! This cake is also not very sweet. It’s got a little less than the perfect requirement of sugar. It lets the cocoa sing. What is so great about it is, that unlike other cakes, it doesn’t have an overpowering sweetness to it. It has a mellower flavour of cocoa in it.

It is a simple cake but one thing is a dire necessity. The weighing machine. You cannot get this cake right with your eye measurement at all. You have to have a weighting scale to measure each and every single ingredient.

Now a lot of you would find this very synonymous with Nigella’s recipe. But with all due respect, I’ve modified mine to a more sinful version of a basic chocolate cake.

Preheat the oven at 170 c. Take a double boiler and melt Hershey’s dark chocolate; about 50 grams of it. Once it has melted, add about 5 spoonfuls of Nesquick powder and instant espresso powder to it and make a thick paste by adding some boiling water to it. The paste should be only a little runny. Keep it aside.

On the other hand, in a separate bowl whisk 3 eggs, 200 grams of sugar and 150 ml of Oilve Oil for exactly 3 minutes. Note : Regular Olive Oil please. Once they are done, pour the chocolate sauce into the eggy mixture and whisk at a lower speed. Cup by cup, add 125 grams of plain flour followed by a teaspoon of bicarbonate soda and baking soda each. A pinch of salt to neutralise.

Mix it well and then add boiling water in case the batter is too thick. Now, add 5 tsps of Kahlua. Transfer it to a lined baking springform tin. Bake it for about 50 minutes or till the fork comes out clean. Cool and serve.

Once you’ve made this cake, trust me you will momentarily forget anything that is bothering you. This cake is magically delicious. It makes me want to have a girlfriend like me!

Bon appetite.

About Ipshita

I am a high schooler from New Delhi, India. I have been interested in culinary arts since I was seven years old. I was always given a notion that cooking or rather baking is the hardest thing to do. Then one fine day I was switching channels on my television and I came across Nigella Lawson’s shows. It suddenly struck me how incredibly fun cooking can be. So, the first thing I ever made in my life was a huge pineapple cake with promegante icing. It was a complete success. I then slowly spread my avenues of baking and cooking. I think cooking is an incredible way to relax yourself. Till date, anytime I am tensed before an exam, I just simply go to the kitchen- get the eggs, flour and sugar and there goes my flirting ! I think it’s really important to be able to love what you do. Even if it’s sweeping the floor. I was always told me how important it is for a model to seduce the camera during a photo shoot. I then realized it is equally important to be in a relationship with your food when you cook it. Food has the ultimate power to join the breaking hearts. This blog is all about my interpretation of food. You will find a lot of posts on different recipes and my experiences with different cuisines tried at different places or countries. I hope you like this blog. Do leave in your views and suggestions.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

