Mediterranean Seafood Stew

IMG_1116

My stew posts from last year are still fresh in my mind and I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to do another stew post. But then I thought to myself that I have already violated my rule of no-posting-similar-recipes by posting more than ten cake recipes, so might as well just go ahead with this one.

This stew recipe is not entirely mine, but I had the luxury to improvise according to what I wanted. I have this old cookbook on ‘Fish and Shellfish’ which I believe was my mother’s and I absolutely cherish that book. I got this recipe off of that book but I did add a few things here and there. I think this is one of the easiest things to do when you’re back home from a long day. Because you really don’t need symmetrical zucchini or julienned carrots, you can cut them the way you like and simply put into the pot.

IMG_1123

Ingredients : 

1 large carrot

1 zucchini

125ml white wine

1 large onion (red and scallion)

6 cloves of garlic, squashed

1 red juicy bell pepper

4 large italian tomatoes

orange rind

500 gms medium sized prawns

100gm baby shrimps

200gm monk fish or sole fish

100gm squid

1tsp saffron

1 cup water

60gm tomato puree

Celery leaves

Parsley

Procedure :

1. Take a large pot and add about 7 tsps of olive oil. Take your seafood and dump them straight into the pot. Let it sizzle for 15 seconds on one side, turn it over and let it sizzle for another 10 seconds and then using a tong remove the seafood from the pot and set it aside. What it does is it seals the flavors and it stops the stew from smelling bad later.

2. Now, drop some chopped onions and some scallions into the same pan. Let it sizzle for a while. Add the squished garlic along with the diced carrots, zucchini and pepper. Let it saute for roughly a minute and a half and then take half cup of white wine dissolve the saffron in it and pour it into the pan. Let it simmer for 5 minutes and then add the chopped tomatoes and the puree. Cover the pan and let it cook on low heat for about 35 minutes.

3. Right when 10 minutes have passed add 2 cups of water and let it simmer again. After 35 minutes take the lid off and grate some orange rind, salt and some celery leaves. Now leave the lid open to make the stew thicker. Just about 5 minutes before you think your soup has reached your desire consistency, drop your seafood in along with some fresh parsley and turn off the gas. However keep the pan covered as the heat would help it cook by the time you serve it.

I don’t mind paring it with some red cabbage salad and whole wheat garlic bread as a condiment.

IMG_1125

Enjoy it away!

Beueno Appetite.

xoxo

Ipshita

About Ipshita

I am a high schooler from New Delhi, India. I have been interested in culinary arts since I was seven years old. I was always given a notion that cooking or rather baking is the hardest thing to do. Then one fine day I was switching channels on my television and I came across Nigella Lawson’s shows. It suddenly struck me how incredibly fun cooking can be. So, the first thing I ever made in my life was a huge pineapple cake with promegante icing. It was a complete success. I then slowly spread my avenues of baking and cooking. I think cooking is an incredible way to relax yourself. Till date, anytime I am tensed before an exam, I just simply go to the kitchen- get the eggs, flour and sugar and there goes my flirting ! I think it’s really important to be able to love what you do. Even if it’s sweeping the floor. I was always told me how important it is for a model to seduce the camera during a photo shoot. I then realized it is equally important to be in a relationship with your food when you cook it. Food has the ultimate power to join the breaking hearts. This blog is all about my interpretation of food. You will find a lot of posts on different recipes and my experiences with different cuisines tried at different places or countries. I hope you like this blog. Do leave in your views and suggestions.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

