The Triple Goodwill Brownie

Its Diwali time and already I am salivating. The yummy sweets, dry fruits and the rice puddings are an imperative in every Indian household for the next one week. So, you must be wondering what is this all American Brownie doing amidst the Indian delicacies. And you must also be wondering WHY the TRIPLE goodwill brownie instead of a normal brownie ? This is because its my Diwali version of Brownies. Very Indianized to the core. Some may just say it’s a normal brownie with some spices in it. But its more than that. And let me tell you, its daring. No it doesn’t only include cinnamon, nutmeg or all spice. It includes chilli. No kidding. So with all that spice and all, it makes it a single goodwill.

The primary purpose of making these brownies was that I am organizing a little meet-cum-movement in my society to encourage all the kids till grade 10 to not burst crackers this Diwali. I believe that for listening me talk about not doing something they look forward to the entire year, I owe them incentives. And brownies gel the best with incentives for kinds. Now, that’s a double goodwill.

I pondered over this before naming it. I somehow could not sit with my brownies being called Double Goodwill. I needed the Triple. But what made it good by an extra fold ? And like a ray of light, it struck me, ITS A BROWNIE. Yeah, I went all Eureka over it. I mean I don’t need a reason to catapult it to another fold. It’s a brownie – that’s a big enough reason. This made me very proud of myself. Spices to good to the festival. The cause does good to the kids and the society and yes, the chocolate does great to us. So this is my no guilt version of brownies.

The recipe is pretty simple. It involves the usual protocol for making any normal dark chocolate brownie. Be sure you use a DARK chocolate and not a milk chocolate, please. Now a little alteration to be made here. Instead of using water, use milk. Full fat milk. What the milk does is, it stops the brownie from hardening in the later stage when you decide on storing for days. Where as water simply makes it hard. And the last thing you want from a brownie is, that it doesn’t stay gooey and chewy anymore. Besides, I always thought water dilutes the taste where as milk amalgamate everything. Anyway, after having that lumpy batter ready for a brownie, you need to add some freshly grated nutmeg, cinnamon, all spice and some chilli pepper water. If you cannot get some chilli water just use ordinary piquante water from the bottles. Use a tiny spoon of that brine. The addition of the brine takes the brownies up to a whole new level. Now, stash the batter into the oven at 160 degree C in a fan based oven for about 25-30 minutes. Once ready, let it cool and dust with icing sugar.

Hope you enjoy the goodwill and pass it on to others as well!

Love,

Ipshita.

About Ipshita

I am a high schooler from New Delhi, India. I have been interested in culinary arts since I was seven years old. I was always given a notion that cooking or rather baking is the hardest thing to do. Then one fine day I was switching channels on my television and I came across Nigella Lawson’s shows. It suddenly struck me how incredibly fun cooking can be. So, the first thing I ever made in my life was a huge pineapple cake with promegante icing. It was a complete success. I then slowly spread my avenues of baking and cooking. I think cooking is an incredible way to relax yourself. Till date, anytime I am tensed before an exam, I just simply go to the kitchen- get the eggs, flour and sugar and there goes my flirting ! I think it’s really important to be able to love what you do. Even if it’s sweeping the floor. I was always told me how important it is for a model to seduce the camera during a photo shoot. I then realized it is equally important to be in a relationship with your food when you cook it. Food has the ultimate power to join the breaking hearts. This blog is all about my interpretation of food. You will find a lot of posts on different recipes and my experiences with different cuisines tried at different places or countries. I hope you like this blog. Do leave in your views and suggestions.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

